London Conference Overview

ESBB’s 2015 Annual Conference took place in London, UK, from Tuesday 29th September to Friday 2nd October. The conference venue was the Olympia Conference Centre.

In the ESBB Vendor Survey carried out last year, London was ranked the #1 conference destination in the whole EMEA region. This was a major factor in the choice of London as the destination for our 2015 conference.

The conference theme was: Biobanking for environment, nature and clinical medicine.

The conference featured a wide variety of fascinating content from across the biobanking spectrum.  There were sessions on Cryobiology, Biobanking for Metabolomics and Proteomics, 'Big Data', Environmental Biobanking, Biobank Assessment, Biobanking Education and ELSI in Biobanking.

At the conference exhibition, vendors from around the world demonstrated the latest products, services, and technology in the field of repository and specimen collection. In addition, there were commercial workshops, and the "Mission Possible" vendor-guided practical sessions. As usual, there was a full social programme including a cocktail reception and a Gala Dinner.

Our local hosts for the ESBB conference were Imperial College, London (represented by Professor Gerry Thomas) and the Natural History Museum, London (represented by Jackie Mackenzie-Dodds).

Programme Committee


  • Jackie Mackenzie-Dodds (Chair/Local Host)
  • Gerry Thomas (Local Host)
  • Hans-Peter Deigner (ESBB President)
  • Alice Matimba
  • Balwir Matharoo-Ball
  • Emmanuelle Gormally
  • Jens Habermann
  • Laura Kuijpers
  • Erica Benson
  • Keith Harding
  • Maimuna Mendy
  • Napavarn Noparatnaraporn
  • Peter Riegman
  • Reinhard Thasler
  • Ronny Baber
  • Rosita Kammler
  • Devarajan Sriraman
  • Erik Steinfelder
  • Yeonhee Lee
  • Zisis Kozlakidis


  • Aidan Emery
  • Angela Galpine
  • Chris Tomlinson
  • Frank Emmrich
  • Katie Barker
  • Therese Koal


Platinum Sponsor




Gold Sponsors




Silver Sponsors

Perkin Elmer
Cryo Bio
Taylor Wharton





ESBB's 2015 Innovation Award Competition

The 5 nominees:

(1) M&R Automation - C+cryo system innovative storage system
(2) Brooks – CryoPod carrier and fill station
(3) Brooks - BioStore III Cryo (-190C) Storage System
(4) Thermo Fisher Scientific –  Barcoded latch racks
(5) Fisher Bioservices - Cryo Cradle


The winner is ...
Brooks Life Science Systems
for their CryoPod™


Press Release: ... LLC today announced that their jointly-developed CryoPod™ Carrier liquid nitrogen (LN2)-based portable carrying system received the first ever European Society for Biopreservation and Biobanking (ESBB) Innovation Award at the recent 2015 ESBB annual meeting held in London, England.CryoPod™ is a truly portable carrier enabling -150°C or colder sample transportation for over 4 hours. See full press release


The Runner Up is ...
M&R Automation GmbH
for their C+Cryo System


See video presentation of the C+Cryo System!


Speaker List

London Speaker Profiles are now on the
ESBB Facebook page

Hilde Schroeven-Deceuninck, European Space Agency (ESA), Harwell, UK.

Andreas Fath, Furtwangen University, Germany.

Julie Russell, Public Health England, Colindale, UK.

Badara Gueye, International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA), Ibadan, Nigeria.

Graham Stone, Institute of Evolutionary Biology, Edinburgh, Scotland, UK.

Veerapong Malai, BEDO, Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment, Thailand.

Cheryl Gillett, King's College, London, UK.

Alice Matimba, University of Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe.

Gunnel Tybring, Karolinska Inst, Sweden.

Giuseppina Bonizzi, IEO Biobank and Biomolecular Resource Infrastructure (IBBRI), Milan, Italy.

Barry Fuller, UCL Medical School, London, UK.

Jiri Zamecnik, Crop Research Institute, Prague, The Czech Republic.

Thomas Leya, Fraunhofer IZI-BB, Potsdam-Golm, Germany.

Matt Ryan, CABI, Egham, Surrey, UK.

Steve Kemp, International Livestock Research Institute (ILRI), Nairobi, Kenya.

Uwe Oelmueller, QIAGEN, Hilden, Germany.

Greger Larson, Wellcome Trust Palaeogenomics & Bio-Archaeology Research Network (Palaeo-BARN), Oxford, UK.

Tim Fulcher, Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, UK.

Robin Allaby, University of Warwick, Coventry, UK.

Christina Schroeder, Fraunhofer IZI-BB, Potsdam-Golm, Germany.

Jim Dowling, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden.

Steve Kelly, AstraZeneca, UK.

Aidan Emery, Natural History Museum, London, UK.

Alison Hall, PHG Foundation, Cambridge, UK.

Edward Dove, Univ. of Edinburgh, UK.

Safia Mahomed, Steve Biko Centre for Bioethics, University of Witwatersrand, South Africa.

Astrid Logo Gajiwal, Tata Memorial Hospital, Mumbai, India.

Chris Lyal, Natural History Museum, London, UK.

Gerry Thomas, Imperial College, London, UK.

Tania Bogdanova, Institute of Endocrinology and Metabolism, Kiev, Ukraine.

Sarah Butcher, Centre for Integrative Systems Biology and Bioinformatics, Imperial College, London, UK.

Mark van de Wiel, VU University, Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

Meredith Yeager, National Cancer Insitute, Bethesda, MD, USA.

Tilman Rau, Institute of Pathology, University of Bern, Switzerland.

Anne Carter, UKCRC Tissue Directory and Coordination Centre, London, UK.

Giorgio Stanta, University of Trieste, Trieste, Italy.

Therese Koal, BIOCRATES Life Sciences AG, Innsbruck, Austria.

James Peach, Genomics England, Queen Mary University of London, London, UK.

Yi-Ke Guo, Department of Computing, Imperial College, London, UK.

Hans-Peter Deigner, Furtwangen University, Germany

Erik Steinfelder, Thermo-Fisher, NL.

Jan-Eric Litton, BBMRI-ERIC, Graz, Austria.

David Smith, CABI, Egham, Surrey, UK.

Henrik Lindberg, Lund University, Lund, Sweden.

Eileen Graham, Smithsonian Institution, Washington DC, USA.

Alastair Kent, Genetic Alliance, UK.

Rob Etches, Crystal Biosciences, CA, USA.

Oliver Ryder, San Diego

Glynn Stacey, National Institute for Biological Standards and Control (NIBSC), Potters Bar, UK.

Johann Eder, Alpen Adria Universität Klagenfurt, Austria.

Marianne Talbot, Oxford University, UK.


Travel Fellows in 2015

  • Daima Bukini - Tanzania
  • Alice Matimba - Zimbabwe
  • Henry Musinguzi - Uganda
  • Esther Nabanova - Uganda
  • Jason Rogena - Kenya
  • Ahmed Samir - Egypt




Speaker Presentations for Download

Presentations from the following speakers can be downloaded by clicking on the link:














spacer spacer spacer spacer spacer